Brighton office

One Jubilee Street,  Brighton,
East Sussex, BN1 1GE
t. 01273 876200
e. brighton@shw.co.uk
e. accounts@shw.co.uk

Crawley/Gatwick office

Sterling House, High Street, Crawley,
West Sussex, RH10 1GE
t. 01293 441300
e. crawley@shw.co.uk

Croydon office

69 Park Lane,  Croydon,
Surrey, CR0 1BY
t. 020 8662 2700
e. croydon@shw.co.uk

Eastbourne office

Ivy House, Ivy Terrace, Eastbourne,
East Sussex, BN21 4QU
t. 01323 410975 (Property Management)
t. 01323 437900 (All other Services)
e. eastbourne@shw.co.uk

Epsom office

56a High Street,  Epsom,
Surrey, KT19 8AJ
t. 01372 818181
e. epsom@shw.co.uk

London office

Venture House, 27-29 Glasshouse Street, London,
W1B 5DF
t. 020 7389 1500
e. london@shw.co.uk

Worthing office

3 Liverpool Gardens,  Worthing,
West Sussex, BN11 1TF
t. 01903 229200
e. worthing@shw.co.uk

Stiles Harold Williams - News

Stiles Harold Williams news.

15 June 2017

2017 June Election & Planning policy – change & continuity

SHW Director of Planning examines the fallout from June 8th’s General Election with regard to the Planning / Property sectors

It was my expectation that planning would be left relatively untouched in the recent snap Election. This was on the basis there was much more to consider and debate than any further tweaks or changes to the planning system!  Brexit naturally was at the forefront of the Conservatives’ campaign or lack thereof, with Jeremy Corbyn and the Labour Party seeking to get backing from the masses!

There are, of course, some references to affordable housing and the need to ensure we have sufficient housing to meet our needs. Essentially, the ‘party line’ remains a need to increase housing supply without building on the Green Belt.

The Conservative minority government is unlikely to be in a position to make any substantial changes to the planning system and we expect everything to carry on as normal.

SHW Director of Planning Alex Bateman
abateman@shw.co.uk / 01273 876265

The only real change in planning is that of personnel. Communities Secretary, Sajid Javid, remains in his position. However, Gavin Barwell - after losing his Croydon Central seat in the Election - was appointed as the Prime Minister’s Chief of Staff.

Given this, there was a vacancy within the Department of Communities and Local Government, with Reading MP Alok Sharma being appointed as the new Minister for Housing and Planning. This comes as a minor surprise to the planning sector given that his professional background is in accountancy and banking.

More recently, he has experience of working for the Foreign & Commonwealth Office and served as a member of the Commons Treasury Select Committee, a member of the Commons Science and Technology Select Committee, a Parliamentary Private Secretary at the Treasury, as well as a Conservative Party Vice Chairman.

We await with bated breath as to whether this new appointment will result in any changes to the planning system.

For further information please contact.

Alex Bateman
Alex Bateman BA (Hons) MSc MRTPI
Director 
telephone
01273 876265
mobile
07711 132009