Brighton office

One Jubilee Street,  Brighton,
East Sussex, BN1 1GE
t. 01273 876200
e. brighton@shw.co.uk
e. accounts@shw.co.uk

Crawley/Gatwick office

Sterling House, High Street, Crawley,
West Sussex, RH10 1GE
t. 01293 441300
e. crawley@shw.co.uk

Croydon office

69 Park Lane,  Croydon,
Surrey, CR0 1BY
t. 020 8662 2700
e. croydon@shw.co.uk

Eastbourne office

Ivy House, Ivy Terrace, Eastbourne,
East Sussex, BN21 4QU
t. 01323 410975 (Property Management)
t. 01323 437900 (All other Services)
e. eastbourne@shw.co.uk

Epsom office

56a High Street,  Epsom,
Surrey, KT19 8AJ
t. 01372 818181
e. epsom@shw.co.uk

London office

Venture House, 27-29 Glasshouse Street, London,
W1B 5DF
t. 020 7389 1500
e. london@shw.co.uk

Worthing office

3 Liverpool Gardens,  Worthing,
West Sussex, BN11 1TF
t. 01903 229200
e. worthing@shw.co.uk

Stiles Harold Williams - News

Stiles Harold Williams news.

12 June 2017

DCLG July planning fee rise confirmed – so get those applications in now

The Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) has confirmed that a proposed 20% rise in planning fees will go ahead in July.  This is unlikely to change given the evolving political envelope, as many politicians have more on their plate than further tweaks and amendments to the planning system.

February’s Housing White Paper said the government would "take steps to secure the financial sustainability of planning departments ensure that the planning system has the skilled professionals it needs to assess and make the tough decisions we expect and provide targeted support to address areas of specialist weakness."
It also said councils would be able to increase fees by 20% from July 2017.

Want to submit a planning proposal before the fees rise?
Contact Alex Bateman: abateman@shw.co.uk / 01273 276265

But a guidance document on brownfield registers and permission in principle, published by DCLG recently, said the government "has committed to bring forward legislation to increase planning fees by 20% where a local planning authority agrees to use the resources for planning. It is intended that the regulations, subject to parliamentary approval, should bring forward this increase in the autumn". However, the document has since been corrected and says that the rise will take place in July, which has been confirmed by the DCLG.

SHW Director of Planning Alex Bateman said: “This increase has been coming, not just since the publication of the White Paper. Local Authorities are struggling to balance their books and this increase is intended to help improve the quality of their Planning Departments. An efficient and effect planning department is so key to delivering the development this country needs.”

For further information please contact.

Alex Bateman
Alex Bateman BA (Hons) MSc MRTPI
Director 
telephone
01273 876265
mobile
07711 132009